The Mountain of the 10.000 Dead (Italy)

Another Rhythm

The path is barely wider than I am. I touch the rock to my right for balance. It’s cold, dark, wet. The path is slippery and I do slip every now and then. Outside, the sun is blazing down but in here, I am freezing. Then, finally I see the light at the end of the tunnel. Quite literally. And I take a deep breath. Just 51 more tunnels to go.
aus tunnel raus
The Strada delle 52 Gallerie (Road of 52 tunnels) is a military mule road built during World War I (1917) on the massif Pasubio in Veneto, Italy.
It is 6,555 meters long, of which 2,280 are divided into 52 tunnels excavated from the rock. The minimum width of 2.20 m was originally intended to allow the transit of two mules with their baggage. Its implementation was of great strategic importance because it allowed communication and transfer of supplies from the…

View original post 721 more words

Leave a Reply

